There are two types of accounts in Bubble: Launcher Accounts and Node Accounts. For most users, you won't need to worry about the differences between these. For curious and advanced users, this information can come in handy.
Bubble Launcher Account
Every Bubble user has a launcher account. This is the account that you initially register with on getbubblenow.com. You use your Bubble Launcher Account to:
- Login to https://getbubblenow.com
- Manage your Launcher Account
- Manage your Billing Settings
- View Bills and Promotions
- Change your Payment Information
- Launch a new Bubble
- Stop a running Bubble
- Restore a Bubble from a backup
Bubble Node Account
When you launch a new Bubble, it has its own account system that is separate from the Launcher account system. You use your Node Account to:
- Login to your Bubble
- Manage your Node Account
- Connect new Devices to your Bubble
- Manage Devices connected to your Bubble
- Manage Bubble Apps installed on your Bubble
Synchronized Accounts are a convenience feature designed to make using Bubble fast and simple.
If you launch your Bubble with the Synchronize Accounts setting enabled, your Launcher Account password and your Node Account password will be kept in sync. This means that if you change your Launcher Account password, your Node Account password will be automatically be updated. Likewise, if you change your Node Account password, your Launcher Account password will be automatically updated.
The Synchronize Accounts setting is enabled by default. If you launched your Bubble without any customization, then Synchronize Accounts will be enabled. If you launched your Bubble with customization and unchecked the "Synchronize Accounts" checkbox, your Launch Account password will not be kept in sync with your Node Account password. If you change your Launch Account password, your Node Account password will not be updated. If you change your Node Account password, your Launcher account password will not be updated.
When using Synchronized Accounts:
- After logging in to https://getbubblenow.com with your password, you can then login to your Bubble with one-click.
- When using Bubble native apps for Windows, Mac OS X, iOS and Android, you can login once to connect your device to your Bubble.
However, there are security implications to using Synchronized Accounts. Specifically, your hashed password is stored on Bubble's central servers. Although we have no systems in place that can log in to your Bubble with this password, it is possible that malicious actors could compromise our central servers and gain access to your Bubble.
For greater security, disable Synchronized Accounts when launching your Bubble. Then, change your password on your Bubble right after it has launched. When Synchronized Accounts are disabled:
- After logging in to https://getbubblenow.com with your Launcher Account password, you have one-click access to your Bubble, but you will have to login again using your Node Account password
- When using Bubble native apps for Windows, Mac OS X, iOS and Android, you will need to login first to your Launcher Account, and then login again with your Node Account in order to connect your device to your Bubble.